Oh, Inconsistent Me

Surprise, surprise – Gwen didn’t post on her blog for an entire month. If this did come as a surprise to you, than there are two things you need to know:

1) I am about as consistent as a cannon that hasn’t had the bore cleaned in several months: when you’re lucky, I’ll fire a nice, clean shot, but in a direction you didn’t expect. When you’re not, I’ll probably just sit there and stare you in the face for a few hours. When you’re unlucky, I’ll explode. Moral of this story: I’ve spent too much time around cannons and I’m feeling a little poetical tonight.

2) Last month was Camp NaNoWriMo, and despite failing spectacularly, I needed a break from other things in order to put my mind in noveling mode. There’s part of my brain that says that since I failed, I really should have been here, working on my Word of the Days or discussing stories with the internet, but there is something to be gleaned from failure and this time around, I decided to devote all my mental energy to that endeavor in the hopes that I won’t have to sit through that lesson too many more times. But (and this is literally true) I have a thicker skull than most, so who knows how many time I’m going to be writing out those lines: “There is no such thing as writer’s block. Writing is 1% inspiration and 99% not getting distracted by the internet. There is no such thing as writer’s block…”

However, a month is a little much to be away, and even I will admit that. I’ll try to do better in the future.

Today, I told a friend of mine that if I didn’t post, she could punch me in the head the next time she saw me. That seems to have prodded me in the right direction. So, Bek – if I don’t have another Word of the Day up within the next two days, you still have permission to punch me in the head the next time you see me.

(Gosh, I’m violent.)

Leave a Reply

