Gwendoogle Part LXXIX – One Week Left and A Fossa Is Staring At Me

Gwendoogle

Answers served with a lot of difficult decisions

Boomshadow searched: If you only had 1 week left to live, how would you spend it?
Cursing whoever told me that I was going to die in one week, because this is an absolutely impossible decision. [glares at Mr. Boomshadow]

In an ideal world, I would do something excellent for the people I was leaving behind.

In the real world, I would probably watch a lot of television and cry just from the panic of the ticking clock. Ticking clocks do terrible things for my nerves.

IncyWincySpeeder searched: If you had a warning label, what would it say?
Uniquely Numbered Human: Equipped with all features including (but not limited to) individual thoughts, feelings, ambitions, carelessnesses, likes, dislikes, and the ability to change her mind. She is equipped with the Run Before You Walk and Pedal to the Metal attitudes, but will do her best not to step on anyone’s toes as she goes about her business of living. You may sue her for damages. She may hire a very good lawyer.

Kate Kearney searched: What are your five favorite pirate words?
“We’ll split it fifty-fifty.”

My favorite pirate is the one who gives me my fair share of the plunder. ;)

Hothothat searched: What’s your favorite zoo animal?
I am overly fond of a small nocturnal thing called a fossa. It looks something like the lovechild of a mountain lion and a fox, with round ears, triangular head and a dangerous, sleek body and tail strung behind it.

The first time I met one, I wanted to stay exactly where I was and watch it climb trees and stare back at me with round, dark eyes for the rest of the day. I was with a large group of family and friends and could not. So, I googled them. Incessantly.

For a little while, I had written a pet fossa onto a beloved character’s shoulder. I named it (Ches), loved it (a lot) and eventually had to throw it out with the rest of the story when it became apparent that I simply didn’t have a plot stronger than a cooked piece of angel hair.

So, I’ve gone back to just googling my fossa friend.

Incessantly.

Kate Kearney searched: Shall we dance?
If you want to. We can leave you friends behind. Cause, I don’t think they dance, and if they don’t dance, then they’re really no friends of mine.

HermioneGreater searched: Are you a good dancer?
Probably not. But, in dancing, I’ve generally concluded that it doesn’t matter.

Kate Kearney searched: What do you think about the concept of a moral event horizon?
I think it is an easy thing to believe in, and an incredibly uncomfortable thing to believe in.

As I understand it, the moral event horizon, is the line in the sand, from which a human being can never come back. It’s the crime whose weight finally topples the scales into perfect conedmenation. There is no forgiveness past that line. There is no amount of remorse or regret that would weight the scales in the other direction again.

And it’s easy to believe that such a line must exist.

I have never forgiven J.K. Rawling’s Snape for killing Dumbledore. I don’t believe that a person should think in terms of using the death of a friend for benefit, even in a good cause. I have never forgiven L.M. Montgomery’s Dean Priest for lying to Emily Byrd Starr because he feared that telling her the truth would take her from him. I don’t believe that a person should let their fear tear apart themselves that way, let alone another person. I have never forgiven Supernatural‘s John Winchester for walking out on his wife and two young sons. I don’t believe that a person should ever choose to abandon a person they’ve promised to support and protect.

I’ve found events in real life that permanently altered relationships that I’ve held, because I could find forgiveness for them after a while, but never trust. It’s easy, and in some ways I think it’s right to set limits on what you will and will not accept from the people around you, to protect yourself, and others from repeated hurts.

But I think it’s also easy to set the restrictions too high. I think that it’s dangerous to write those restrictions in stone, and to discount the real potency of regret, repentance, and forgiveness.

I think it’s near impossible to say that a moral event horizon actually exists, and absolutely impossible to accurately define what rests on either side.

LoganClause searched: Would you rather trade some intelligence for looks, or looks for intelligence?
I wrote a character like this once. She cast a spell on herself that kept her eternally fitted inside the body she’d had at twenty-five. In return, she might not have lost her intelligence, but she definitely lost her attention span, becoming a gorgeous, powerful magician who would stop in the middle of a battle to exclaim over the beauty of the castle wall hangings.

I was twelve. I just thought she was hilarious. And she was heaven’s gift to my toddling steps into writing when I had no idea how to do a proper conversational transition, and she was the perfect non sequitur flip in a conversational line.

When my father read my story, he told me he knew several women who would have made that trade. I don’t know why it caught my attention at the time, but the sadness of the comment has stuck with me for a decade. Because of it, I’ve probably thought this over more often than I should.

I’ve simply come to the conclusion that I am too vain to decide. I like the way I look and I like the way I think, and I am too proud of both to risk losing anything in either department.

If forced to choose, I would play my favorite game, proving that I am the most stubborn person on the planet, and refuse to say a word. I’m proud of that too.

Kate Kearney searched: What if I don’t want a thick skin?
I suppose, if you told me you didn’t, I would have to question exactly whether you were actually kicking against a calloused skin, or a calloused heart.

And if it’s really the thick skin you don’t want, then I suppose it’s possible, but it will limit the number of paths you can take. When you see all the doors that shuts, you’ll have to make your own decisions about whether or not its worth it.

Weechesters4hire searched: How do you feel about practical jokes?
I like them, particularly in stories, as long as they follow the Three Iron Rules:

1) No one gets hurt – physically or emotionally
2) There are no permanent repercussions from the joke
3) It has flair

As long as it fits those perimeters, I’m game. :)

Ever dumped glitter over the curtain while your roommate was taking a shower? [waggles eyebrows]

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in the comments below, and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 35 questions

Leave a Reply

