Gwendoogle Part LXXXVIII – Thanksgiving and the Question of the Alternate Universe

GwendoogleAnswers served with a little luck

Kate Kearney searched: Quick, will you help me procrastinate?
Absolutely. What do you think Gwendoogle is for? Just go make yourself a snack and come on back.

Watch this video: Bad Lip Reading – Catching Fire

Play this game: Mahjongg Dimensions

And consider the best way to built a stable bridge, castle, and tower out of old socks.

Flip the Otter searched: What are three beloved Thanksgiving traditions (not necessarily for you, but the question may be taken that way)?
Our traditions are in a state of flux now that most of my siblings are over the age of twenty, so I’ll count the traditions as anything that stayed the same in the last two years:

1. We’ve been eating out at a local buffet, enjoying the chance to let someone else do the complicated job of giving the entire family their holiday favorites, but we still cook a turkey. For leftovers. No one eats that turkey on the big day.

2. We used to head over to the bowling alley after dinner and eat pie between frames, sharing with the alley staff. We still play a game, but now we’ve widened our options to board games and card games.

3. Either on Thanksgiving, or the day after, we visit the movie theater for whatever animated film looks best. And we do whatever it takes the avoid the movie theater at the mall.

Flip the Otter searched: What are four bizarre or terrifying Thanksgiving traditions from around the United States?
1. Thanksgiving used to be a lot more like Halloween. Around the turn of the century, celebrants would have worn elaborate costumes and masks. It was a good day to cross-dress, and large cities would have been full of masquerade balls.

2. The most common thing for children to dress up as were hobos. They would then wander their neighborhoods “scrambling for pennies,” and people would give them pennies, nickles, fruit and candy.

3. If you ever had a hankering to ride your bicycle around town and throw confetti and flour on strangers, Thanksgiving was an allowable time to do that. You could also ride your horse.

4. On a more recent note, in the last decade, there’s been a surge of celebrants deciding to eat their turkey and pie in their pajamas. I can find no explanation for this phenomenon.

Kate Kearney searched: What do I do when I feel like I have nothing to read?
Go to the library and wander around until something jumps off the shelf and bites your hand. Read that, so long as it has a spine and pages, not a spine and claws. If it doesn’t excite you in the first few pages, feel free to toss it aside and find something else that bites. Don’t confine yourself to the shelf sections you usually haunt. Try something new, if it looks interesting.

Or, take a break from reading and watch a good television show. Sometimes, you’re just in the mood for a different sort of story.

Kate Kearney searched: Or when I finish my shows?
Well. Sounds like you’re in a gaming mood. Get up, take a walk or a run to clear your head, grab a friend or two and your favorite game and enjoy an interactive side of the world for a while.

Flip the Otter searched: What is the astrological significance of the third star in Orion’s belt, the one on the right not the left?
The belt stars (Orion Zeta, Epsilon, and Delta) are named Alnitak, Alnilam, and Mintaka. According to Ptolemy’s astrological findings, the far right star, Mintaka is supposed to give good fortune.

Together with the rest of the belt, it can also give strength, energy, lasting happiness, industry, notoriety, a sharp mind, and good memory.

In other combinations, Mintaka can portend homicide, ignoble hunting, blindness, blindness in one eye, drowning, drowning and assassination, enmity of women, loss from a lawsuit, sarcasm, death from consumption, and lonely death.

All in favor of handcuffing Mintaka to Alnitak and Alnilam, say aye.

Kate Kearney searched: What is your ideal weather?
I like a good sixty-seven degree day when I can wear a jacket and enjoy the crisp air when I go outside. Or a forty-degree day with coats and hats and scarves and snow. I will accept anything below eighty degrees, or with half the humidity that I’m used to living here on the east edge of the United States.

Flip the Otter searched: Define: Polyturfition.
The act of creating many lands. Originally used as an alternative to “terraformation,” but with slang usage, took a meaning closer to “the fight for independence.”

Kate Kearney searched: Do you have anything you consider lucky?
I do not. I have a very poor grasp on the concept of luck, probably because my greatest gambling successes have arrived when I was simply the brashest, most stubborn person at the table. Stubbornness, the refusal to back down when sense says you should have run away hours ago, doesn’t sound like luck to me. It sounds more like convincing Fate that you’re scarier than her, and she doesn’t want to see how far you’ll push this.

The closest I come to considering something lucky, is some old graffiti that I saw in Athens:

IMG_0505

“KALEI TUCHEI”

It translate to good luck. And it meant more to me as a stranger’s kindness than as any invocation of good fortune.

Flip the Otter searched: Define: Metaindorphilanus.
An archaic and technical term for a bureaucrat who enjoys the paperwork and complicated system of governance more than accomplishing any particular goal. Literally: lover of the midpoint of confirmations.

Kate Kearney searched: What would you say to pirates who abducted you?
In the dramatic version of my life? “Please let me go. I’m sure I’m useless to you.”

In the comedic version of my life? “Do you know who I am?! Do you know who my father is?! Do you know who my mother is?! Do you know where I come from?! Do you know where we are?! Do you know how far it is to Prince Edward Island?! Do you know the circumference of the earth?! Do you know the names of our planetary neighbors?! Do you know the distance to the sun?! Do you know the atomic numbers of hydrogen, argon, vanadium, lanthanum, and praseodymium?! Do you know the air speed velocity of an unladen African swallow?! Do you know anything? Ugh! That’s it. Move over. I’m captaining this ship.”

Flip the Otter searched: What if a paradox occurred where a pivotal point in your life was different. Say the parents of your best friend never got together, and then because you never knew your best friend, you never met a lot of the other people you now know and are close with. Your life is irrevocably different. You have different friends, perhaps went to a different school, and have a different job. In that case, would you want to remember the people from your “previous life” so that you have some contact with the people you know and loved, or would you rather have the non-existent past wiped from your memory so that the new friends, jobs, etc. are the only truth?
It’s at times like these that I remember why I enjoy science fiction and fantasy writing so much.

This is an absurd question. My best friend’s parents did meet, and time cannot be rewound or altered in any way that would grant me an option of remembering or not remembering two timelines. Even if we accepted that time was fluid enough to be changed, I could not remove myself from the face of time enough to hold onto memories from a previous wave. Physics and reality make this a moot point.

And yet, it’s not an absurd question. It provides a tangible example to help us ask ourselves if past happiness can be negated by loss. It makes us ask ourselves whether memories are worthwhile, even when the events of them cannot be repeated in the future. It makes us decide whether past relationships that cannot continue were wasted or worthwhile.

So, yeah, I’d want to remember both. Because I’ll accept that the universe and time and fate will rob me as I go through life, but I won’t willfully rob myself. I’ll try to accept my happinesses as they come, and accept the hurt of an expiration date but not it’s shadow.

Flip the Otter searched: Will we ever get another Into the Character Lounge?
Yes. Right after my blog writing schedule gets back to normal after the madness that has been National Novel Writing Month. If you have questions that have been eating at you for the characters, drop them in comments below.

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 20 questions

Leave a Reply

