Gwendoogle Part CIV – Internet Rage, Poetry, and Writer’s Block

GwendoogleAnswers served with a sixty second break to learn how to spell “curlicue”

Trebez searched: Do you have a method of curbing or quelling internet rage?
Methods require a pre-determined, concrete plan. As a person who runs from any plan that doesn’t have opportunities for improvisation down every line of sight, I definitely do not have a method.

What I do have is a thick skin and one simple question:

Is there something beneficial I can do with my anger, or is it time to get off the computer?

I don’t think we should be shy about being angry. And I don’t think we should hesitate at showing the computer a cutting smile, giving it a boldly honest I’m done with you, and walking away.

Kate Kearney searched: Rage or finesse?
I can appreciate Berserker Rage as much as the next girl, and understand that there’s no finesse in such a thing, but I don’t like the idea that I have to choose between fury and the pleasure of an artful execution. I’ll take both.

To me, anger has always been more fuel than fire. You can put it through a rocket engine and crash into whatever happens to be next on your course, and the explosion will be equal parts pretty and ugly. You can also put it in the old Chevy and let it get you out of town, out of state, out of the world for a little while.

You can pour it all over that thing that just needs to be burned out of existence, and you can put it in the machine and let it build you something new.

Or you can pour it all over the ground in curlicues and drop the match so the pretty little thing lights up and tells the world what could have been, tells the world what might happen next time.

Rage doesn’t have to be blind, doesn’t have to be stupid. Does it?

Kate Kearney searched: Have you ever had an idea for a children’s book?
I wrote a children’s book once. I was forced to for an assignment in college, but I had a lot of fun, and I liked it when I was finished.

I also stole the plot of it from the novel I was working on at the time, so, no, I don’t think I ever have.

LillyoftheAlley searched: What’s a piece of writing advice that you would chose to pass on?
1. Sit down and write.

2. Ignore any rule you’ve been told and any rule you’ve written for yourself until it’s time to edit.

3. Have fun.

4. Good luck, mate. Here there be monsters.

Kate Kearney searched: Has your stance on writing poetry changed at all?
Absolutely, it’s changed. It just hasn’t moved much.

As with most positions I took up between the ages of ten and eighteen, it was a fairly dramatic stance. It would be fair to say it was a sort of Feet Apart, Shoulders Back, Hands on Hips, Scarlet Cape Flying, Leaning on the Ten Foot Pole I Wouldn’t Touch Poetry With stance. Poetry was not for me, I would use every superpower I owned to put distance between myself and it.

Poetry still isn’t for me, but I’ve learned some temperance. I’m happy to stand on that line without having to pretend there’s some valiance in it. I don’t need the ten foot pole any more.

I can admit that I don’t write poetry because I literally cannot identify meter or stressed and unstressed syllables and it frustrates me to be able to clinically explain iambs, but not be able to point one out in the wild. I can say that poetry has always seemed like a crashing meteor to me, because I’ve felt the fierce heat of it, but I can’t explain why it burns with sufficient clarity to create my own. I can say that I don’t like writing poetry because I’m not good at it.

At this point, I don’t ever expect to move off that line. I would like to finally gentle enough to sit or lounge on it though, instead of standing awkwardly like I’m not sure if I was actually invited to this party.

NotMyDeathStarSon searched: I was told once that all writers have a piece of punctuation that they love and a piece of punctuation that they hate… True or false?
I have a fondness for commas and dashes, and I really dislike misused semicolons, so I’m tempted to tell you that it’s true… but I also couldn’t make that last statement without specifying what sort of semicolons I dislike.

In fact, I could make a strong argument for thinking that semicolons are the coolest kids on the block, and that’s why I hate seeing them playing with matches in the middle of the street sentences.

I also don’t want to be tasked with making blanket statements about all writers. It’s too much fun to listen to the diversity of thought that they bring to the table.

Kate Kearney searched: Is there a genre you would like to write in but have not yet written in?
I would like to try my hand at historical fiction at least once in my life. It sounds like an interesting challenge, to take what we know in black and white and play with the angles to get a good story out of it. I like the idea of knowing the exact events and having to fill in the precise personalities that contributed to them or endured them.

But I also live in awe of historical fiction writers because the amount of research that they engage in makes even my little academic head spin.

Reese T. searched: Do you believe in [ghastly ghostie noises] WRITER’S BLOCK?
Sure, if you mean a state that every writer finds at least once in their lifetime in which nothing they write satisfies them to the point that they feel incapable of writing anything at all.

But I don’t think the ghostie noises help anyone demystify the already overly romanticized “monster” that is a normal function of our psyches. [glares like a school marm]

We all get it, and learning to get through it is part of what makes us writers.

Kate Kearney searched: Are there any subjects you research for fun (regardless of if Gwendoogle has a question about it)?
They change faster than the seasons, but yes. Right now I’m researching lap-sized predators, what changes might be expected in the world if the tamed house cat had never existed, and a lot of -archy’s and -cracy’s (monarchy, oligarchy, democracy, theocracy, autocracy, diarchy, ergatocracy, kritarchy, plutocracy, stratocracy, etc.)

Some of the things I have learned in the last week:

1) Lap-sized predators that wouldn’t take a bite out of a human if given the chance are hard to come by.

2) Apparently cats are a weirdness in the animal kingdom, in that we never actively tried to tame them. They simply showed up and offered to take care of our rodent problem in exchange for worship food. I’m becoming increasingly suspicious of their motives.

3) “Banana republic” is a technical term.

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 35 questions

2 thoughts on “Gwendoogle Part CIV – Internet Rage, Poetry, and Writer’s Block

Leave a Reply

