Gwendoogle Part CV – Lists (Some Numbered, Some Not)

Gwendoogle EasterAnswer served with a side of borrowed time

Trebez searched: What is the region/period/area of history you feel the most knowledgeable about and which one would you like to learn more of?
I am most knowledgeable about Ancient Greece from about 500 to 400 BCE. I’m probably a little too fascinated by the Greco-Persian and Peloponnesian Wars, but those hundred years include the The Battle of Marathon, the Hot Gates, the Delian League, the Siege of Athens, and the Massacre of the Melians. It’s the age of Cleisthenes, Themistocles, Leonidas, Pindar, Pericles, Demosthenes, Cleon, Alcibiades, Antiphon, Peisander, Phrynichus, Lysander, Aeschylus, Sophocles, Herodotus, Eurpides, Heraclitus, Plato, Aristophanes, Socrates, Thucydides, Phidias, Hippocrates, and Democritus. You may have skipped a number of those names as unpronounceable rattlings, but to me they’re fascinating historical personalities that changed worlds, both theirs and ours. And the list of them is a magical chant to make stranger’s eyes glaze over.

I also have a pretty good grasp on Greek history from about 800 BCE to 150 CE, but not with the same fervor or surety.

I could say that I want to learn about every area of history, but that would be pretty cheap. I could use a more solid understanding of the history of the United States from World War I to modern day since this is where I live, but I would be more interested in the Mongols in the generations following Genghis Khan. For a famous conqueror, I know very little about the legacy he left behind.

I’m a very poor historian, if a covetous one: I want everything that the people around me show me a glimpse of.

Kate Kearney searched: How do you feel about numbered lists?
1) Generally, I like them, in the way I like paperclips and file folders. I don’t smile when I see them, or want to collect them, but I know how useful they can be.
2) They make it easy to judge quantities at a glance, which is sometimes the first thing I want to see in a list.
3) I use them all the time.
4) They can also overwhelm me faster than any other sort of list when they’re describing things I don’t care for.
5) I rarely use them for creative endeavors, because numbers make me feel constricted into good order.
6) Once I start one, I have a hard time stopping on an odd number.

Summer searched: What IS a Banana Republic?
Banana Republic is a (largely pejorative) political science term for any country whose economy depends largely on the export of a limited resource (such as bananas). Whatever the actual form of government, those in power allow this economy to persist, likely receiving kick-backs through deals with favored monopolies, which essentially allows the country to operate as a commercial enterprise for private profit. It’s an unstable situation, and generally doesn’t end well.

The term was coined by O. Henry, after he spent a year in Honduras hiding from an embezzlement charge in the United States. The retail store seems to have borrowed his term because the exotic sound of it matched their original safari theme.

Kate Kearney searched: What is the diet of a quadilapotus?
Hop shoots, truffles, saffron, and white asparagus, which also happen to be the world’s most expensive vegetables. Their diets, mixed with their persistent tendency to be fictional, makes most people decide against quadilapotoi as pets. It’s much cheaper to feed a space dragon.

Kate Kearney searched: What is your war cry of choice?
I have a hard time choosing between:

I’M GOING TO EAT ALL OF YOU!

AWAKE IRON!

ALALA!

GET AWAY FROM MY BLANKET!

I imagine I’ll make my final decision in the moment, keep it loose and spontaneous.

Summer searched: And what is an ergatocracy?
It’s a type of government controlled by the working class. In a lot of ways, it can look like communism, but the wage-earners are calling the shots.

Kate Kearney searched: Any suggestions regarding quality temporary hair dye?
I have not dabbled much in temporary hair dye. I’ve always had the mindset that there’s nothing really permanent about hair – it will always grow out – and if I really dislike the new color, I can always dye it back. What can I say? I live on the edge.

Here’s what I look for in permanent dyes:
– Good reviews for the specific brand and color that I am considering
– Statements from users who have generally the same natural color and hair texture as I do describing their results
– Confirmation from past users that this dye does not bleed
– No bleach wherever possible

I assume that most of that is relevant to temporary hair dye as well.

Kate Kearney searched: Will you challenge me with at least four writing prompts or exercises?
1) Two of your characters are in prison and they’re having a difference of opinion. One of them thinks they have a viable means of escape, and they should take it immediately before the opportunity disappears. The other one thinks it’s a bad idea. In fact, they don’t want to escape at all. How does the argument go?

2) Pick a country. Any country will do, though fictional countries will make your life interesting. I would avoid Absurdistan, if at all possible. Google image search the name of that country. Use the first photograph image result as your setting. Start writing within ten minutes.

3) Your character’s best friend has sent them a message in code, and I’m using “message” loosely. Maybe it’s a hand signal that no one else can see or understand. Maybe it’s a folded piece of paper left on the dining room table. They don’t understand any piece of it, except that it’s crucial. Cue panic?

4) Pick a color. Something that color has just become the most dangerous thing your character has ever seen. What is it? And just how dangerous is it?

5) Pick your favorite letter of the alphabet. Now, write at least two hundred words without using it.

6) Write for as long as you can only using one syllable words.

Good luck!

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 31 questions

2 thoughts on “Gwendoogle Part CV – Lists (Some Numbered, Some Not)

Leave a Reply

