Gwendoogle Part CXI – Welcome to My Book Fort

GwendoogleAnswers served with a lot of time spent lugging books around

Kate Kearney searched: May we have an updated bookshelf tour?
Sure! And by that, I mean: absolutely not, because my room is a mess and my shelves have been overcrowded lately with things that aren’t books, but I will build you a Book Fort.

I learned today that I do not have enough books to build a complete fort. I found a new life goal.

I learned today that I do not have enough books to build a complete fort. I found a new life goal.

And then, because a Book Fort is not the most advantageous way to show off a collection, I will give you a bookshelf tour without the bookshelf.

Come, I will take you to the couch (the true place a good book belongs), and begin with the fiction collection:

Top shelfMiddle shelfBottom shelf

The fiction collection is mostly made up of novels, though you can see the short story collections being antisocial in the corner there. The novels are alphabetized by author (except that one book that I made a mistake with *glares at it*) and the short stories just… happened. The most recent additions are The Lies of Locke Lamora and Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch, and yes, those are three copies of Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind hanging out on the middle shelf.

Up next, the non-fiction collection:

My babies

These are my babies. On the right, my Ancient Greek texts (Plato, Homer, Sophocles, etc.) lead straight into my English translations, with the Ancient Greek lexicon standing in between just in case there are any disputes.

Then come my Latin text books, and some old history and art text books from college. Then the “reference” section, with the MLA handbook, the Pirate Primer, and the Guide to Fantasyland. (So useful.)

My writing craft books – what few of them I have – are hiding in the corner.

And then… there’s this shelf:

To Be Read Pile

These are all the books which I own, but have never read.

Yeah.

Forty-four, in case you were trying to count them.

They’re arranged by color, because I have no idea how you’re supposed to arrange a to-be-read pile.

BlueOnionRingLlama searched: Which book, most recently, did you not finish?
The Secret History of Moscow by Ekaterina Sedia. I started it back at the end of February, but put it back down in favor of something lighter. It has a very Old Russian Novel feel, and that wasn’t what I was in mood for at the time.

I’m rarely in the Old Russian Novel mood, actually. I never truly got over Anna Karenina. Stupid trains.

LexiGlass searched: Tell me about a book you’ve read more than three times?
I have quite a few that I go back to repeatedly and I could recommend any or all of them, but I’m not sure I’ve ever mentioned L.M. Montgomery’s Emily of New Moon on this blog before, so…

As far as books that had a hand in turning me into a writer, this is a big one. The main character, Emily had all the dramatic urges to write that I did, and it was good to have the company. She had the sort of friends that I would want – quirky, wild, flawed, and beautiful – and she lived in beautiful, exotic Canada.

Emily’s teacher, Mr. Carpenter encouraged her to write. He gave pep-talks, clumsily and sharply. It felt real coming from him, and when I reread it, it’s not that hard to imagine that he’s talking to me too.

Aaron V. searched: What’s your favorite quote from your favorite book?
Sneaky, trying to get me to pin down my favorite book. This is the best I can do for you:

“‘How about this?’ Simmon asked me. ‘Which is worse, stealing a pie or killing Ambrose?’
I gave it a moment’s hard thought. ‘A meat pie, or a fruit pie?'”
– The Wise Man’s Fear
by Patrick Rothfuss

‘”Why would I want to win anything but a beautiful game?”‘
– The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

“‘You are an educated man. You know there are no such things as demons.” Bast smiled a terrible smile. “There is only my kind.” Bast leaned closer still, Chronicler smelled flowers on his breath. “You are not wise enough to fear me as I should be feared. You do not know the first note of the music that moves me.”‘
– The Name of the Wind
by Patrick Rothfuss

“Cammon didn’t blink or look away or appear frightened in the least, just continued watching him. For a moment, Dalcey had the strange feeling, as if this boy really could read his mind, scan his heart and retrieve all of his long-held memories, chart the tangled and vicious course of Dalcey’s life. Everything he was, everything he had felt, said, offered, refused, stolen, coveted, or destroyed – all of it – the boy comprehended each piece of Dalcey’s life in a single glance.

“And looked away, unimpressed. ‘Are we done here?’ Cammon asked. ‘Let’s go.'”
Reader and Raelynx by Sharon Shinn

“… and then he broke down, just for one moment, his sob roaring impotent like a clap of thunder unaccompanied by lightning, the terrible ferocity that amateurs in the field of suffering might mistake for weakness.”
– The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

This isn’t a definitive list, but they are the first quotes that sprang to mind. The first made me laugh aloud. The next four made me stop to reread them a second time before I could move on, because they were that right.

I could list more, but you only asked for one…

KiliFiliKiliFili searched: Who is your favorite female literary character?
I don’t know if I’ve said this flat out yet, but “favorite” is an impossible word for me. Why have “the one” when you can have “so many!”

My so many:
Kel from the Protector of the Small quartet (Tamora Pierce)
Ellynor and Kirra from Dark Moon Defender (Sharon Shinn)
Devi and Denna from The Kingkiller Chronicles (Patrick Rothfuss)
Johanna Mason from The Hunger Games trilogy (Suzanne Collins)
Meliara from Crown Duel (Sherwood Smith)
Eowyn from The Lord of the Rings trilogy (J.R.R. Tolkien)
Ilse from the Emily trilogy (L.M. Montgomery)

KiliFiliKiliFili searched: And your favorite male character?
My so many:
Justin from Dark Moon Defender (Sharon Shinn)
Jean from The Gentleman Bastard series (Scott Lynch)
Neal from the Protector of the Small quartet (Tamora Pierce)
Peeta from The Hunger Games trilogy (Suzanne Collins)
Simmon and Bast from The Kingkiller Chronicles (Patrick Rothfuss)
Rooster from Gates of Fire (Steven Pressfield)

KiliFiliKiliFili searched: Do I dare ask you about your biggest literary OTP?
… Well, you just did.

Ilse and Perry in the Emily trilogy by L.M. Montgomery. They are the definition of “those two magnificent idiots belong together,” which is apparently my weakness.

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 12 questions

Leave a Reply

