Gwendoogle Part CXIX – The Only Solution is to Stop Leading Me Anywhere

GwendoogleAnswers served with a smile. Or three.

E-Boy searched: Where does the phrase “leading me down the primrose path” come from?
Primrose is popularly – but wrongly – thought to derive from prima rosa (“first rose”), and since the 1400s, primroses have been used metaphorically to indicate ultimate beauty or pleasure. The “primrose path” would have been almost synonymous with heaven, though lacking the piety.

Our modern meaning, in which that primrose path leads you eventually to destruction, comes from Shakespeare, who borrowed the phrase in Hamlet:

Do not, as some ungracious pastors do,
Show me the steep and thorny way to heaven;
Whiles, like a puffed and reckless libertine,
Himself the primrose path of dalliance treads,
And recks not his own rede.
Act I, Scene III, Lines 51-55

“Leading me down the primrose path” has also recently been confused with “leading me up the garden path” which indicates you are purposefully being tricked or misled. Mostly likely, the latter phrase originates from a time when weddings were held in the house gardens, and men were not always aware of what their bride looked like before the veil was lifted.

MadamLibrarian searched: How does your body physically process that punch in the gut nostalgic feeling?
I usually just cry it out. Not sure that’s called a “process.”

Kate Kearney searched: Do you ever need to change physical locations in order to concentrate?
Absolutely. Sometimes it’s about escaping noise or company or distractions, and sometimes it’s about escaping a pattern. Most of the time, I think it’s less about being able to concentrate, and more about disrupting whatever thought pattern I had been working off of before that had been getting in the way of my moving forward. New place, new walls, new things, new keyboard, new whatever and sometimes, it feels like a new brain too.

MadamLibrarian searched: What is an animal with a magical seeming ability (breathes fire, etc)?
Bombardier Beetle.

We’ve figured out how it does it, so its probably doesn’t seem like magic anymore (and somehow, insects are usually absolved of any responsibility in fantasy literature) but it can shoot steam, boiling liquid, and sometimes fire, out of its rear end.

Or so I’ve heard.

E-Boy searched: Why is the dabbit dragging Misha Collins across the bookshelf?
I suspect it’s Misha Collins’ fault. An argument can be made for the whims of the dabbit, but that dabbit has been minding her own business all day…

MadamLibrarian searched: Can I has an emotional pick me up?
I’ll just leave this here:

Kate Kearney searched: Do you have a root beer preference?
Other than a firm belief that MUG root beer is not root beer, I my only preference is for glass bottles over tin cans. But I think that’s just common sense. ;)

MadamLibrarian searched: Will you give me three gifs of pretty men?
I… would like to say yes.

I would also like for this question not to have made me spin a few mental circles trying to figure out how to complete it, beauty being in the eye of the beholder, of course. Can’t seem to come up with a definition for “pretty” that I can be sure will lead me to adequate gifs.

So, unfortunately, I have to approve. But I can offer these three gifs of men whom I think are pretty:

 photo Aaronjuststopthatitsrude_zpsc9a7438c.gif

 photo Jason Momoa smile_zpsjl36kvx6.gif

 photo Bradley James smile_zps0opfx4ej.gif

(Smiles are dangerous things.)

MadamLibrarian searched: Five of adorable animals?
Well, now I have to wonder whether adorableness is in the eye of the beholder too…

 photo cute cat_zpszeigwpmn.gif

 photo this cat will eat you_zpszy5xcbth.gif

 photo sleepy ducky_zpscnrs7osr.gif

 photo this dog will eat cat_zpsvtlm9v6f.gif

 photo this dog is confused_zpswlifroaz.gif

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 6 questions

One thought on “Gwendoogle Part CXIX – The Only Solution is to Stop Leading Me Anywhere

Leave a Reply

