Royal Court Book Tag

Welcome to the Royal Court Book Tag, created by Janna Marie over on YouTube. The idea is to create your perfect royal court by picking characters out of the books you have read to fit the roles in each question below. I’m not sure “perfect” is what I ended up with, but this castle would definitely never be a boring place…

I was not tagged, but I’m doing it anyway.

I’m also not answering the questions exactly as Janna Marie created them, because it seems the game of Telephone has wreaked a little havoc with them and I grabbed them from Katelyn at Book Chats who purposefully attempted to lose some of the gender inequality.

Here we go:

Squire - Tamora Pierce Good Copy1. King and QueenYour Favorite male and female leads
Favorite is always a difficult word for me, but Keladry from The Protector of the Small Quartet by Tamora Pierce has been a favorite for a long time, and I think a warrior queen would be amazing. She’ll kick a few butts, refuse to leave any of her soldiers behind, and keep everyone under her care safe. She’ll keep them happy too, if she can help it. She would probably hate the job of Queen, but I’m giving it to her, and at least this way she won’t have to worry about losing her knighthood every time she disobeys orders to help someone out.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott LynchJean Tannen from The Gentleman Bastard Sequence by Scott Lynch is a more recent favorite of mine. It may be cheating a little to call him a lead, but he is patient, dangerous, kind, and better able to put up with stupid people than almost any other character I’ve read. After everything he goes through, he deserves a little stability and happiness.

And my royal court is already off to an interesting start: a queen who disobeys orders and a king whose superpower is putting up with stupid people. Oh, and she carries a glaive which can take off a man’s head from ten feet away, and he carries a pair of hatchets called the Wicked Sisters.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins2. Royal First Bornthe most loyal character
My friends and I have had more than one conversation about Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins in which we realize she really only made two decisions in the entire series. The rest of the time, she is following someone else’s lead, but it makes it easier to point to the things that are most important to her, the things that will make her stand up and step out of line. Her loyalty – to a small group of people – has always stood out to me the most.

Angel-Seeker by Sharon Shinn3. Second Bornthe most laid-back character
Angel-Seeker by Sharon Shinn is one of my guilty pleasures. It’s almost entirely a romance novel, which I don’t tend to read, but I got hooked by the charming, nonchalant main character Obadiah. Obadiah is so laid back he makes running look like lounging. Which, with him, it probably is, because when he wants to go somewhere fast, he flies.

Paper Towns by John Green4. Third Born the most headstrong character
Right now, a lot of people are talking about Paper Towns by John Green. The movie is hitting theaters, the author and actors have been on tour around the United States and around the world, and the trailers are everywhere. I almost believe I don’t have to explain why I’m choosing Margo for this role. You’ve already had the dramatic movie voice over saying she’s the girl who loved puzzles so much she became one. You’ve already seen her in the trailer, dragging Q out of his bedroom window to be her Get-Away driver when most teenage girls girls don’t need a Get-Away driver. But maybe you don’t know yet just how determined she is, and how many people’s opinions she will disregard if she is certain she had found what she wants.

And yes, I know the idea of any of these three inheriting Kel and Jean’s kingdom is a little terrifying. I can’t even decide which one is most terrifying.

The Spirit Rebellion by Rachel Aaron5. Royal Advisermost trustworthy character
Miranda from The Legend of Eli Monpress Novels by Rachel Aaron is one of those rare characters that has a healthy respect for dangerous situations, but is completely unafraid to meet them. She is almost impossibly level-headed, constantly surrounded by people and magics that are everything but steady.

She fits this question perfectly. She’s also my only hope of keeping this castle from busting apart at the seams.

Emily Climbs by L.M. Montgomery6. Duke and Duchessyour favorite couple
I would complain about the use of the word “favorite” here again, except that I’ve been asked this before, and after a few hours of thought, realized I never have to think about this again. It’s probably always going to be Ilse Burnley and Perry Miller from The Emily Series by L.M. Montgomery. First of all, these are the first books I ever owned, so they are glowing with nostalgia. Secondly, I fell in love with both of these characters individually (she’s a tiger in a silk dress and he’s sass in a bottle). Thirdly, this was my first introduction to the “these two fools deserve each other” relationship, and I’m probably never going to get over it.

I would be frightened to hand these two such power in a kingdom, except that Perry always wanted to be a politician, so they were bound to get power somewhere.

The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien7. Lady-in-Waiting and Gentleman of the Bedchambertwo characters that take care of those around them
I don’t know how anyone has ever answered this question without mentioning Samwise Gamgee from The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien, because he came to mind so fast, I think I got whiplash. Gentleman of the Bedchambers seems like the wrong honorific for a character that goes to hell and back just because he Cinder  by Marissa Meyerwon’t let his best friend go alone, but… well, actually, I think Sam would appreciate it. So long as the bedchamber has a garden.

For Lady-in-Waiting, I would hire Iko from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. She’s probably just the freshest in my mind, for that supportive friend who always seems to be there to talk to or tell you when you’ve got a grease smudge on your face after you just spent ten minutes talking to the prince, but this kingdom seems like it could use a robot or two.

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss8. Secret traitorleast trustworthy character
Bast from The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss is one of my favorite characters in one of my favorite books, a protagonist, the loyal student of the main character who spends ninety-five percent of his time listening to stories or goofing outside to avoid reading boring books. Ninety-five percent of the time he’s got a lazy smile and an easy step. The other five percent, he moves across the room in a breath and slams you against the wall to threaten you with a smile as sharp as polished steel. “You do not know a note of the music that moves me,” he tells someone in a dangerous moment, and I believe him. The longer I wait for the third book in the series, the more aware I become: I can’t wait to see what he’s up to, but I don’t trust him for a moment.

And I’m sorry, but my royal family wouldn’t stand a chance against him.

9. Court Wizarda whimsical or fun or magical character
Elodin, also from The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss, would simultaneously be the worst and best wizard the world had ever seen. He’s a bit mad between the ears, but I think that’s at least a third of his appeal.

If he’s in the castle though, the little princesses and prince will be warned since birth not to jump off any roof that Elodin tells them to. Margo probably will anyway. Obadiah definitely will, but he probably jumped off every roof in the castle by the time he was six.

10. Royal Foolthe funniest character
Nealan from The Protector of the Small Quartet by Tamora Pierce has been making me laugh since I was about twelve. The fact that I can read the series again, for the ninth or tenth time at the age of twenty-five, and still snicker at him, earns him this position, I think. The best part about him, I think, is that he a sarcastic kid who has no idea that he’s a clown, but even the series’ horses agree that’s what he is.

Othello by William Shakespeare11. Court Gossipthe character most likely to have and spread secrets
I know plenty of characters who like to gather secrets, but it took me a little while to come up one who also sowed them around town. I thought about Petyr Baelish from The Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin, then realized I’d rather have Iago from Othello by William Shakespeare. That’s right Lord Baelish, I’d rather have Iago.

I’m just hoping that Iago and Bast will end up on opposing sides in whatever madness is coming for this poor kingdom.

12. Attractive Servantjust because every kingdom needs one
I’m going to argue that if you need one, you need a handful and I’ll invite Justin (from Dark Moon Defender by Sharon Shinn), Vidanric (from Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith), Gavriel (from The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black), Simmon (from The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss), and Rooster (from Gates of Fire by Steven Pressfield) to court.

If you think that’s too many, give it a year. Justin, Vidanric, and Rooster are all likely to do something stupid and get themselves knighted by either Kel or Jean. Gavriel will probably reveal four or five secret identities for himself before six months are up. Then, we’ll just be left with Simmon. I’m okay with that.

Thanks for sticking around through this long post. I hope it made you smile  at some point.

I’m also tagging the following bloggers because I’m hoping someone will end up with a kingdom that is a bigger mess than mine:

Kathryn of Nine Pages
Bekah of Building a Door
Emily of More Than One Page
Olivia of Often Clueless, Always Shoeless
Rachel Poli

2 thoughts on “Royal Court Book Tag

  1. Ah, this is such a cool idea! Thanks for tagging me in it. I have to admit that it may take me a while to post it. I’m going to have to do a lot of thinking. ;)

  2. Pingback: Challenge: Royal Court Book Tag | Nine Pages

Leave a Reply

