Gwendoogle Part CXXXIII – I Attended Hogwarts

GwendoogleAnswers served with books. I really like books.

Rarasaur searched: If you had to retell the story of your life using books to represent it, which books would you choose and why?
Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery
My ChildhoodEmily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery
This was one of my favorite books as a kid, probably for the fact that it so brightly mirrored the way I was brought up: in a house more conservative than any of the neighbors, with that one important cat that haunted the place, gathering odd and loyal friends, while writing in precious notebooks and every scrap of paper I could find.

The Thirteenth House by Sharon ShinnFirst BoyfriendThe Thirteenth House by Sharon Shinn
My teenage years are a bit of a blur, to be honest. I’m not sure what I did with them, or if they were just an extension of my childhood with the same adventures and fewer siblings at home. But, I remember the drama of my first boyfriend. I “stole some other girl’s guy”, and the rest of my friends stood around shaking their heads, wondering what in the world I was doing. I thought I was in love, and that love mattered that much more than kindness or honesty. I would like to say the whole situation had less drama than The Thirteenth House, but we were fifteen, so… Probably not.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. RowlingCollege DaysHarry Potter by J.K. Rowling
I was not one of those kids who dreamed of getting a letter from Hogwarts. I read the books once, and otherwise, mostly enjoyed hearing other people talk about it. But, I don’t know any way to explain to you how I felt about my university, other than to tell you that it was my Hogwarts.

My professors were a mix of badass, incredibly intelligent, and… yeah, there was that one that I would believe had the Dark Lord living on the back of his head. Three-quarters of my classes were like learning magic. In the rest of them, I was either Ron trying to learn Divination, or… I was Hermione trying to learn Divination. (Ask me one day about the time I had to draw “angry squiggles.” As a graded assignment.)

My friends were the best part of my university. My junior year, we nicknamed our apartment housing after the four Hogwarts houses. We divided ourselves up, but as far as I’m concerned, my friends had all the best traits of all four houses. Every one of them was brilliant, bold, loyal, and fierce.

And when we graduated, we looked at each other in our black robes and funny hats, and quite literally told each other, “I had the time of my life fighting dragons with you.”

Odyssey translated by Stanley LombardoThe Last Four Years and Now – The Odyssey by Homer
I have been told that most twenty-somethings feel a little lost, so I don’t feel bad about claiming this one. I have felt for a while now as if I am wandering around trying to find that place I’m supposed to be settled. Unlike Mr. Odysseus, I have an idea I’m supposed to be building it, not that it’s waiting out there somewhere for me. Like him, I keep getting sidetracked by gods and cannibals. It’s rough…

Kate Kearney searched: People or places?
This is one of those questions that I feel like has a “Sunday School Answer.” There’s an answer that everyone expects you to admit to, a “right” answer that you’re supposed to give.

But I’m going to say it this way:

There isn’t a place on earth that is sufficient for more than a month without good people to share the space with, but for a month, a place can be your soul.

Kate Kearney searched: Why are late nights so much more enjoyable than early mornings?
For me, it’s because late nights are times that don’t come with any expectations. They’re life’s “free period” when you don’t have a defined responsibility, so you can do whatever you’d like with the time. You can’t take care of business at midnight. You might as well read one more chapter in that book that’s enthralling you.

Kate Kearney searched: A rock or a hard place?
I just went on a bit of an investigative rampage, trying to figure out what the “rock” and the “hard place” were shorthand for in the popular saying. After about an hour, I was left with the same information that I had within five minutes: that the saying suggested that a person was actually about to be ground between two rocks, and that it is only the most recent saying that has encapsulated this same idea.

Previously, it could be said as “between the devil and the deep blue sea.” This version may have referred to a specific place on a ship where a sailor might fall into the ocean trying to caulk it properly, or may have just asked the age-old question of whether we’d prefer to burn to death or die of drowning.

Before that, it was, “between Scylla and Charybdis.” It was used figuratively by Virgil, and probably a thousand people since, referring to the dangerous monsters in Homer’s Odyssey which Odysseus must sail between.

In light of all this, I feel it is only fair that I should be able to choose between a rock, a hard place, the devil, the deep blue sea, Scylla, and Charybdis.

And I choose the rock. I figure I can throw it at somebody.

Kate Kearney searched: Why is singing along to the radio more appealing when one is sleepy?
Either I am always sleepy, or I can’t resist singing along in any state. I may be the wrong person to ask this question.

But I suspect it has something to do with the reason we eventually arrive at a condition known as “sleep drunk.” There are just so many ways to get rid of inhibitions.

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 13 questions

Leave a Reply

