Gwendoogle Part CXXXIV – Lazy, Wabi-Sabi Day

GwendoogleAnswers served with a certain song thrown in the mix

Summer searched: What’s the original meaning behind the Christmas tree-topper?
Since the 1800s, the most common Christmas Tree Toppers have been angels and stars. The angel was originally meant to symbolize Gabriel for his role in announcing the birth of the Christ. The star was meant to represent the Star of Bethlehem, which guided the Wise Men to the Christ. Placing these symbols on top of the tree was meant to be a declaration of faith. The declaration of faith, in turn, was thought to hold evil spirits outside the house during the holidays.

There was a minor anomaly in the 1870s, when families put the Union Jack on top of the tree more often than either the angel or the star. Who knows what that kept out of the house.

Kate Kearney searched: Factory perfect or wabi-sabi?
Wabi-sabi, if only for the fact that I will be eternally grateful that a word exists for the beauty of the imperfect, the incomplete, and the impermanent.

Factory perfect is admirable to a certain extent, but wabi-sabi makes me feel good to be human.

Kate Kearney searched: Should I write quotes all over my dishware?

If you:

  • Own your own dishware
  • Also feel more comfortable and more human surrounded by that wabi-sabi atmosphere
  • Like to keep your quotes close, like an old lady keeping cats

Then you absolutely should. And now I have a really strong itch to do the same.

Kate Kearney searched: What can I read when my mind is lazy?
When I’m lazy, I watch television. I can’t even deny it. Sometimes just turning pages is hard.

If I were able to gather the gumption, I think I might go with:

Cinder by Marissa MeyerThe Lunar Chronicles (Cinder, Scartlet, Cress, and Winter) by Marissa Meyer.
The last book in the series came out earlier this month, which means you will no longer have to wait on pins and needles for the ending. Each book follow a well known fairy tale, which makes the stories familiar enough to be relaxing, while Meyer works enough new material into each plotline to make them engaging.

The Martian by Andy WeirThe Martian by Andy Weir.
This is a flat-out science fiction novel with explosions. There is mortal danger on at least one third of the pages. And yet… it just goes down smooth.

Angel-Seeker by Sharon ShinnThe Samaria Novels (Archangel, Jovah’s Angel, The Alleluia Files, Angelica, and Angel-Seeker) by Sharon Shinn.
These have just always been lazy day reads for me. They are science fiction romances (where angels are either the best people ever, or the biggest jerks) which combine into a thousand-year epic, while each novel feels bite-sized. Just, whatever you do, no matter what you hear about the chronology, do not read Angelica first. It will ruin everything.

Kate Kearney searched: Are there any aspects of a place that would make you not want to live there?
1) No communication with the outside world on a weekly basis. I don’t care if it’s the internet or snail mail. If I can’t get to it at least once in every seven days, I’m not living there.

2) Poisonous animals inside the house. Don’t do it.

3) No air. It won’t work out well for anyone.

Kate Kearney searched: What do I do with this bag of dice?
Roll ’em.

Because in the immortal words of Journey (which I have frequently sung at the top of my lungs), “Everybody wants a thrill, payin’ anything to roll the dice just one more time.

Kate Kearney searched: What is the appeal of the illicit?
Well… Everybody wants a thrill. (You’re making me sing again.)

Also, in my experience, everyone knows that there’s a reason things become taboo. Once we know there is a reason why we’re not supposed take a certain action, our curiosity to know what that reason is and our desire to prove someone wrong combine into a dreadful urge to do the thing.

Kate Kearney searched: Why is time so immutable?
Because it’s really hard to find a good time machine schematic on the black market. Some aliens just don’t know how to share…

Kate Kearney searched: Should I buy the metallic pens?
I have bought many metallic pens in my lifetime. They have all died, tragically unused, in one drawer or another.

It’s one of life’s tragedies.

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 4 questions

Leave a Reply

