Winter Thieves

The Dream Thieves by Maggie StiefvaterThe Dream Thieves
by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves is the second book in The Raven Cycle and all the Raven Boys are back along with Blue and her house full of psychics. Together, they’re still searching for sleeping magic on the ley lines in Virginia, but after the events of the first book, more than one of them has already found some magicks they didn’t expect.

I liked the first book. I absolutely adored this one.

I read it in forty-eight hours because I couldn’t put it down. I laughed at every snarky line and every boyish antic. At one in the morning, I threw it down because it scared the crap out of me. I literally clapped my hand over my mouth and gasped four times. I did not cry, but I was a little busy swearing at the antagonists for coming after my new friends.

This book had the only depiction of learning to use magic over a weekend that I have ever believed.

I reread several scenes in this book, as I realized just how beautifully Stiefvater had layered conversations together, building story and character and reality.

And I am in love with Ronan Lynch as a character.

Now give me the next book in the series before I’m forced to reread this one.

Winter by Marissa MeyerWinter
by Marissa Meyer

Winter retells the Snow White fairy tale, and is the concluding chapter of The Lunar Chronicles. Having enjoyed the previous three books and the science fiction twist they placed on Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, and Rapunzel, I pre-ordered this one and read it almost as soon as it arrived in the mail.

I was satisfied with it as an ending to the rollicking, space-faring adventures that the series delivered, but it was my least favorite book in the sequence for three reasons:

First, the pacing stuttered in several places. The book was 827 pages now – nearly two hundred pages longer than any of the previous books – and still didn’t have the space for all the characters and events necessary to complete the story. Sometimes plot points raced by, stacked up against each other. Other times, everything seemed to pause for characters to have an important conversation. Overall, I could feel the construction of the story, when I would have preferred to be caught up in it.

Second, the third book had prepared me to love Winter and Jacin, the two main characters of the Snow White retelling. I was thrilled at the hints of their relationship that I saw in the closing scenes of the third book. It looked fresh, confident, and heartbreaking in all the best ways. Unfortunately, it actually was the story of the Most Beautiful Girl in the World who somehow still believed that the Boy Next Door hadn’t noticed her. Not only have I read that story before, but I’m not thrilled by it.

Third, there was too much in this conclusion that looked and tasted like The Hunger Games. I love The Hunger Games, but I don’t think the elements were borrowed well.

At the end, however, I’m very glad to have all the Happily Ever Afters for the main characters.

Leave a Reply

