Top Five Wednesday – Books for 2016

When I woke up, it was in my plans today to post the next section of the Wednesday Serial. Unfortunately, today became one of those chilly, almost-Christmas days, in which I did very little. I mostly sat on the couch, pretending that I didn’t have a headache, sore throat, and runny nose while I binge-watched the final season of How I Met Your Mother.

As of half an hour ago, I still intended to give you at least a small piece of the Wednesday Serial. Then I looked at a clock. And got on YouTube.

Over there, people are talking about books. Specifically they’re listing the top five book series they’d like to start in 2016 as part of GingerReadsLainey‘s Top Five Wednesday project. You see where this is going, right?

Yeah, I’m going to ramble sleepily about books.

Top Five Series I’d Like to Start in 2016:

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo1. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

I actually know very little about these books, other than that they are fantasy, very popular, and there is a character named “The Darkling” who seems to make people all over the world faint from either terror or… that other thing. I believe the main character is an elite warrior of the magical variety, and that there is a war in progress.

I’ve heard a lot about the series’ spin-off, Six of Crows, a fantasy heist novel. People have raved about it. People have quoted it, and enticed me with all the Magic Words (“monster”, “thief,”and “trouble”). I’m going read this trilogy, just to get to that book.

That’s how I roll.

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater2. The Wolves of Mercy Falls Quartet by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve become a little obsessed with Maggie Stiefvater in the last few months. The Scorpio Races is the sort of book that I will force my best friends to buy if they wander into a bookstore with me. The Raven Cycle’s final book is coming out in April, and I check the internet every day to make sure that the release date hasn’t been moved back.

The Wolves of Mercy Falls is the first series Maggie published. As such, I really want to read it, but also expect to get a lot of the same experience as when I read John Green’s debut novel, Looking for Alaska after reading and adoring The Fault in Our Stars. I expect to see hints of all the things I love in her later novels, but for it to be either not as refined, or not as concentrated.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon3. Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon

There are eight books in this series (so far), and every one of them is brick. I’ve had multiple people tell me to read them immediately. I’ve read some things on the internet that make me uneasy about them, and turn the usually enticing length of them into a risky investment.

But, I own the first one. I bought it almost two years ago. I brought it across the country with me when I moved, despite space being precious in the little car I used to make the trek.

Something tells me I’m just curious enough to give this one a shot sometime in the next twelve months.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness4. Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness

This is another book which I only know enough about to be intensely curious. People in this book can read each other’s minds, and do, at all times. If I understand correctly, they can also read their pets’ minds, and the main character’s dog is a character in its own right.

I don’t need to know anything else.

Also, I’ve been told it’s a crime that I haven’t read anything by Patrick Ness. I rolled my eyes, but I would like people to stop trying to lock me up.

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers5. His Fair Assassin Trilogy by Robin LaFevers

In all likelihood, this is a series I will either love or hate.

I might love it, because it follows three Delightfully Deadly Ladies, trained to be assassins by medieval nuns who serve St. Mortain, the Death god.

I might hate it, because in at least the first one the Delightfully Deadly Lady falls for her target. That’s not the sort of story that easily enthralls me, and the fact that it’s a Young Adult series makes me question how it will be handled.

But (and you should read this in a Crocodile Hunter accent) I’m gonna read it!

What series are you excited about picking up soon? Do you know of any other series I should pick up?

4 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday – Books for 2016

Leave a Reply

