Blue Hopsquatch

Blue Lily Lily Blue by Maggie StiefvaterBlue Lily, Lily Blue
by Maggie Stiefvater

This is the third book in The Raven Cycle. As usual with third books in a quartet, it’s difficult to give any plot summary without spoiling the secrets of the first two. Since this is a series which has made me burst out laughing, made my jaw drop, and made me throw a book across the room in shock, I refuse to destroy any of the surprises. They’re too much fun, finding them on your own.

All I’ll say is that it’s about four high school boys, all of which are very interested in secrets older than them, two of which actually go to class. It’s about ghosts, and folks that should have been ghosts a long time ago. It’s about women who see the future a little better than most people, and still have to live alongside people who see the future in the same detail as the rest of us.

I’ll tell you that I liked book one, for the characters and the cleverness in the writing. I loved book two, for the characters, the magic, and the intensity of the false reality.

I liked book three. When I say that, I’m aware that it’s a step down from the love I professed on the second book, but it wasn’t disappointing. This book was less intense. My favorite character, who had dominated book two, didn’t have any point of view chapters. The story was still told with the same finesse, the characters were still people I was happy to spend hours with, and there were moments – brilliant moments – which I adored.

Book Four comes out this April. In all likelihood, I will read the first three books all over again before then.

Hopsquatch by Michael NewtonHopsquatch
by Michael Newton

When a man is found dead on the side of the road, it looks like an accident. When the coroner examines him, it looks like murder, and someone very tall, very hairy, and very smelly did it. The Sheriff buckles down to investigate, and the rest of the small town just buckles down.

For the following reasons, this book was not for me:

1) I read enough science fiction and fantasy, that if you tell me that Sasquatch killed someone, my response will not be, “Noooo…” it will be, “Well, okay. How do we catch the sucker?” The mystery didn’t catch me as it was supposed to.

2) The characters were more caricature than portrait. The female characters were flat and overly-sexualized. For me, trying to connect with any of them was like trying to drink a smoothie through a coffee stirrer.

3) The mystery was unsolveable, clues almost non-existent, until the perpetrator announced their guilt in a classic villainous monologue to a soon-to-be-dead man. It made the puzzle unsatisfying.

To be honest, I would have preferred a novel about a Sasquatch Hopscotch competition.

Leave a Reply

