Page 45

The original plan for today’s post was to list my ten favorite quotes from books I had read this year. I gave up on that after about fifteen minutes I couldn’t figure out how to rank

But how awful would that be? How terrible to live surrounded by the stark, sharp hollowness of things that simply were enough?
– The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

and

Caldris led them over to a large covered basket that sat on the stones near the docked dinghy. He undid the cover, reached in and removed a live kitten.
“Hello, you monstrous little necessity.”
“Mrrrrwwwwww,” said the monstrous little necessity.
– Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

on the same list. Then I did what I do best: procrastinated with YouTube, Tumblr, Facebook, Twitter, and Writing Ridiculous Things, and found this:

addtext_com_MjEzODQ2NTI1ODM

[looks innocent]

[gives up on that, too]

I mean, clearly, I am now going to give you the Top Ten Page 45 Predictions from books I read last year, ranked from At least that makes sense as a vague prophecy to Yeah… that sounds accurate:

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch10. Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch says:
“Uncertain,” said the chorus of merchants as they began to step backward, widening their circle.

Interpretation: If I were a more normal human being, I would count this one as the most honest prediction, but I’m not, so it just sort of makes me chuckle.

The Archived by Victoria Schwab

6. The Archived by Victoria Schwab:
“No, it’s not so bad,” I say at last with a smile.

Interpretation: Optimism is a beautiful thing, and will serve in the same the function as an Emergency Flotation Device during 2016.

The Secret History of Moscow by Ekaterina Sedia9. The Secret History of Moscow by Ekaterina Sedia says:
It’s just the cat, they would tell themselves even when the feline was sleeping peacefully at the foot of the bed.

Interpretation: Something wicked this way comes… and I’m going to mistake it for the cat that I don’t own.

Coldest Girl in Cold Town by Holly Black8. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black says:
So, she went to parties and pretended nothing bothered her.

Interpretation: I get to go to parties! And ignore the cat that I don’t own!

The World That Forgot How to Dance by Olivia Berrier7. The World That Forgot How to Dance by Olivia Berrier:
The awkwardness of it would have been overpowering if she focused on it, so Ellsie let herself journey deep into the dance instead.

Interpretation: This year is going to come with some strange, mildly uncomfortable things. I’m going to learn the samba.

Vicious by V.E. Schwab5. Vicious by V.E. Schwab says:
When Eli picked up Victor from the airport a few days before the start of spring semester, he was wearing the kind of smile that made Victor nervous.

Interpretation: I’m changing my name to Victor some time in the next twelve months and I’m going to get a very good idea on an airplane.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi4. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi says:
“HANDS UP, FEET APART, MOUTHS SHUT.”

Interpretation: It is possible, maybe, a little bit, in one of the potential futures which take the moment I disembark from that plane as their inciting incident, that my very good idea, will have some unintended results. I would venture to say that it might be my fault.

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch3. The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch says:
“How dare you,” said the young woman.

Interpretation: Not a prediction. A catchphrase.

The Martian by Andy Weir2. The Martian by Andy Weir says:
After all that work and getting blown up, I’m exhausted.

Interpretation: I think I may have gleaned some of the possible unintended results.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater1. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater says:
But Gansey never minded retelling the story.

Interpretation: 2016 is going to be mythic.

3 thoughts on “Page 45

  1. This is fun. The closest book to hand is for me is actually a dictionary and got ‘ampoule’. For fiction, I put my hand to Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett and got:

    ‘And I hope your head gets better, Miss,’ he said.

    I’m quite concerned! :)

Leave a Reply

