Gwendoogle CXLIII – Travel Plans

Gwendoogle

Answers served with a dose of optimism

MadamLibrarian searched: Would you ever go to Antarctica?
I can think of approximately 6,479 situations in which I would go to Antarctica:

1. A eccentric millionaire named Frank invites me to join him on an expedition to the southern continent after learning how much I love winter weather. I am clearly useless on their quest to find the lost alien civilization under the ice, so I tell the rest of the party that I’m only there because I fell asleep in the box of parkas by accident. When pressed, Frank tells the party that he needed someone who would remain cheerful while we were all freezing our rear ends off.

2. A very old stone is found under the ice, carved with an Ancient Greek phrase which simply says, “I’m only half the contest.” It makes a lot of people curious. Dozens of teams make their way south. I get to go because I can read Ancient Greek and crack Stargate jokes.

3. I win a ticket to go on a cruise around the Cape Horn. A freak storm drives the ship horribly off course. The ship is beached with an iceburg through the hull. Most of the crew were lost. The passengers and I learn how to survive from a friendly tribe of penguins.

4. McMurdo is hiring new staff for their post office…

Kathryn searched: Is there or is there not a story in the Old Testament of a young person being killed for refusing to kill? Because I feel like there is, but I can’t find it.
First, I can’t recall hearing about such a story. The closest bell my memory is ringing is one of several times that the Israelites were commanded to completely eliminate their enemy and, because they wanted wives or they wanted wealth, they let a portion live.

Second, I can’t find your story either, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.

Can anyone else help us get to a definitive answer?

MadamLibrarian searched: When did chestnuts become associated with Christmas time?
A long time ago, in a galaxy… very close to us. And no one seems sure of the particulars.

Except that it must have been before the 1900s, when the prolific population of chestnut trees in North America was decimated by a fungus. Inside a handful of decades, over 4 billion trees were killed in the blight, which is why most of us can sing Nat King Cole’s song, but cannot tell you what a chestnut tastes like.

MadamLibrarian searched: What are three GIFs that make you laugh?

 photo this dog will eat cat_zpsyhchwzk7.gif

 photo doggiecantcatch_zpsu21gme7a.gif

 photo Did you catch that_zpsfzqf3qel.gif

 photo tumblr_inline_nzbnlqsjcI1r0wad0_500_zpsmm21clec.gif

(Yes, I can count, but it doesn’t mean I’m going to…)

MadamLibrarian searched: If you could gain one life skill, what would it be?
Going to a grocery store and returning without any of the following:

  • Chocolate
  • Ice cream
  • Potato chips
  • Gummy Worms
  • Cookies
  • Microwaveable Chinese food

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 1 question

Leave a Reply

