Gwendoogle: Hamilton Book Tag

GwendoogleAnswers served with musical gusto.

Neekers searched: Three words: Hamilton book tag. If you haven’t heard of this before you should look it up. :) You should also probably do it.
For those of you who haven’t yet heard, Hamilton is a Broadway musical which is garnering a lot of attention for its rap and hip-hop treatment of the founding fathers. Alexander Hamilton, Aaron Burr, George Washington, and Thomas Jefferson spit rhymes.

It has also been playing on repeat in my room for the last month.

The Hamilton Book Tag was created by Maureen Keavy over on YouTube. From what I can tell, it is an excuse to talk about books and Hamilton in the same breath. And an excuse to lip sync to the Hamilton soundtrack. Double time.

To quote, Mr. Aaron Burr, Act 1, Scene 15, “Okay, so we’re doing this.”

THE QUESTIONS:

The Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussThe Room Where It Happens What book world would you most like to join?
The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss have been very high on my list of favorite books since I was introduced to them five years ago. A big part of their appeal is the world Rothfuss built.

Some of his cities are brilliant. Some of them are dark. There are things in the woods, some of them friendly, some of them dangerous, and some of them devilishly neutral. There’s music and magic. There’s science so close to magic they play harmonies against each other.

There are definitely places in this world I would ask not to be dropped into, but I’d be very excited just to spend a day at the University where most of the books are set.

A Game of Thrones by GRR MartinThe Schuyler SistersWho is your favorite underrated female character?
For the most part, I feel that I don’t talk to enough people about books to know which characters are popular, or which get overlooked. Thanks to the HBO show, however, I hear a lot of opinions about the characters in A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin.

And Sansa Stark is severely underrated.

I can understand why. Her little sister, Arya is the more traditional “strong, female character.” Arya gets to learn swordplay and run around the woods with her direwolf while Sansa is being betrothed and learning new ways to do her hair.

But it’s hard for me to look at Sansa and not see a girl stepping out of her home for the first time and trying to carry the virtues she’s been taught – propriety, integrity, nobility, kindness – with her. She’s a teenager, failing at many things, but rock-solid in her belief that there is a right and a wrong. It’s sort of the hallmark of the Starks, and she not misplaced in that family.

And she survives.

Vicious by V.E. SchwabMy ShotName a character who goes after what they want and doesn’t let anything stop them.
I couldn’t decide who I wanted to talk about on this question until I told myself to look only at the characters who barrel toward their goals. Characters who blind themselves to everything else. Characters who tear things down around them, slightly destructive little juggernauts.

And then I had to mention Eli and Victor from Vicious by V.E. Schwab.

Books are full of single-minded, dogged, determined college boys, but these two take the cake, searching for a way to give themselves superpowers before graduation.

Homeland by RA SalvatoreStay AliveWhich character do you most you wish was still alive?
[spoiler]Zaknafein[/spoiler] from Homeland by R.A. Salvatore.

I haven’t read Homeland in about a decade. I’m honestly not sure I would still enjoy it if I picked it up today. I kind of burst out laughing reading some of the family names while clicking through the wiki earlier to make sure I had the right book in the series. There were a ridiculous number of syllables.

But I’m probably always going to wish that this character had survived. [spoiler]Or rather, that that one time we thought we were going to get him back, we hadn’t dragged Wulfgar out of the underworld instead. But since I just learned that Wolfgar was originally intended to be the main character of the series, I can’t blame Salvatore for wanting to bring his darling back.[end spoiler]

BurnWhat’s the most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read?
I couldn’t even think of contenders for this question.

Either my heart is unbreakable (laugh with me, please) or I haven’t read the right sort of books.

Titus AndronicusYou’ll Be BackWho is the world’s sassiest villain?
I’m not going to have any trophies made, but Aaron the Moor from Shakespeare’s Titus Andronicus had to be mentioned here.

Why?

Because in the midst of murder, and incest, and cannibalism, and every other nasty thing that Shakespeare could pack into this play, Aaron the Moor is standing around plotting the nastiness and cracking Your Mama jokes.

Good job, Shakespeare.

Blue Lily Lily Blue by Maggie StiefvaterThe Reynolds Pamphlet Name a book with a twist that you didn’t see coming.
The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater is full of mysteries and amazing reveals.

I guessed most of the twists in The Raven Boys, felt proud of myself, and didn’t lose any enjoyment because of it.

I didn’t guess the ones in The Dream Thieves. And I threw my book across the room once.

But there is one in Blue Lily, Lily Blue which hit me like a watermelon to the chest. It came out of nowhere. It made a huge mess. And then it wasn’t mentioned for the rest of the book.

[spoiler]Matthew, Stiefvater? Matthew?![end spoiler]

I’ve pushed this series on all my friends, but no one else has made it to this book yet, so I feel like I’m standing around covered in fruit pulp, shocked and damp, waiting for someone else to notice.

And the next book doesn’t come out until the end of April.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsNon-stop Name a series you marathoned like a boss.
I read all three books in The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins just as fast as I could.

Unfortunately, I was borrowing them from a friend, so “as fast as I could” meant reading each book in a day, then waiting a week to see my friend again and get the next one. The week in between Catching Fire and Mockingjay was painful.

For my family.

The only thing they heard from me for seven days was Peeta’s name.

The Scorpio Races by Maggie StiefvaterSatisfiedWhat’s your favorite book with multiple points of view?
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater is beautifully written. Period.

It has a dual perspective, split between Puck and Sean, two competitors training for a deadly race. Despite being from the same place, being around the same age, and both loving their own specific horse to a near stupid level, Stiefvater crafts disparate characters and never allows us to forget whose head we’re inside.

(I also feel the need to mention Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus series. Because being inside Leo Valdez’s head is a gift.)

Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your StoryName a book/series you feel like will be remembered throughout history.
The one you convince all your friends to read.

Seriously. Go forth and proselytize for your favorites.

Only YOU can prevent forgotten books.

BONUS QUESTIONS (to be answered as quickly as possible):

Ten Duel CommandmentsYour favorite fight scene?
Both times Locke gets into a bloody fight by himself in The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch, and stalls for time so that Jean can jump in as well.

What Comes NextWhat series do you wish had more books?
The Protector of the Small quartet by Tamora Pierce. I know it’s the nostalgia talking, but I would shave my head for another story with these characters.

Right Hand ManWhat’s your favorite BROTP (friendship that’s so tight they might as well be family)?

  • Finnick and Johanna from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins – because I’m a sucker for dangerous people who build their reputations on not giving a rat’s tail about anything, but would secretly murder for each other.
  • Gansey and Ronan from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater – Yes, the last book is coming out in April. Yes, I know I’m going to be in a world of pain.
  • Keladry and Nealan from The Protector of the Small quartet by Tamora Pierce – Misfits and opposites. Dangerous. Snarky. Come on. Of course, I love them.

What’d I MissName a book or series you were late in reading.
Uh… The Lord of the Rings trilogy? I mean, it had been out for forty-eight years before I finally got around to it.

Leave a Reply

