Gwendoogle – Bacon, Salt, and Sawdust

GwendoogleAnswers served on National Encourage a Young Writer Day

Kate Kearney searched: What is an efficient and organized way to store crazy writing papers?
Once upon a time, I had one of those hit-with-a-brick ideas, and wrote the entire thing down on freshly sawn-off two-by-four. And I got a splinter. Then I walked around with a Very Important Piece of a Two-by-Four in my purse for a week, because I was on vacation, and there was no better place to keep it.

When I got home, I put it in a pretty little leather box along with about a hundred torn notebook pages, fifty other strange-shaped scraps, forty napkins, a french fry sleeve, and half of a pizza box lid.

I gave up on efficiency and organization a long time ago. I’m just happy that the box still closes.

And yes, that box smells like bacon and salt and sawdust. What does your writing smell like?

OhMyGiddyAunt searched: What’s your current music obsession?
I’m not admitting to my current obsession, because on the surface, the song is a mess. Explaining why I love it so much would take an hour, and half your sanity.

So, here’s my obsession from two weeks ago, which is much more respectable:

Also, this one, which I once listened to for about twelve hours straight while studying for finals in college:

Kate Kearney searched: How many pillows?
Three: the one I stole from my father when I was little, the one that actually still has fluff in it, and the really long one that protects me from my sleepy attempts to become one with my bedroom wall.

I used to sleep with a quarter of a quagillion, but then my chiropractor taught me that Too Many Pillows is the leading cause of Gwen’s Head Wants to Explode.

Kate Kearney searched: Do you want to build a snowman?
No. But I would be happy to build a:

  • snow fort bigger than your dad’s car
  • snow mountain that will last until June
  • snow angel army
  • snow bear

SmrtrThnthAvrgBr searched: Tell me something I don’t know?
[squints]

I’m wearing green socks and tomorrow is National Cheese-Fondue Day.

Kate Kearney searched: Should I be concerned about my sister’s army of Stitch?
Yes, for two reasons:

  1. Your sister has an army and, historically, sisters with armies do some serious damage. Ask the Tudors.
  2. Our society places high value on wearing two shoes, and Stitch does not.

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 7 questions

3 thoughts on “Gwendoogle – Bacon, Salt, and Sawdust

  1. If given the chance to live for a month in Antarctica, all expenses paid and in moderately comfortable lodgings (it is Antarctica) with another person of your choice, would you do it?

    • What are three tasty recipes with under ten ingredients? what DO you do with a drunken sailor? What is the cutest animal noise? What is your favorite book from the ALA banned book list, any year? What is the historical significance of basketball in Ireland? Do you know any folk dances? What are three unusual or oddly violent fairy tales? What are five book recommendations? What are four interesting/unique hair styles? What are three songs you could listen to everyday for six months and not get sick of them? What are three fun ways to get yourself to exercise? If you had to make a blanket how would you do it, knit, crochet, sow, quilt etc.? What is a good childhood book for a child under two? Would you rather be given salt, chocolate, or wax?

  2. Current book recommendations? Thoughts on infused water? Necromancy or Psychometry? Wizards or sorcerers? Thoughts on state fairs? Favorite prompts and tactics for writing inspiration?

Leave a Reply

