Gwendoogle – The Little Engine Tag

I was tagged by Matt Black over at The Little Engine that Couldn’t to do his brand new Little Engine Tag. Matt is currently celebrating his college acceptance, and is counting down to the hiatus that comes with academia. Be sure to stop by his blog, congratulate him, and send him off with a bang.

Little_Engine

This train is mandatory, but Matt never said it had to be right-side up.

The (sort of) simple rules:

  1. This tag includes eight questions: six set in stone queries, and two that change at the whim of the blogger. Do what you like with them when you pass this tag on.
  2. Each answer you give to a question must be more than two sentences long. Two sentences are allowed, only if very, very interesting.
  3. At the end, tag some folks. Three maybe. Or four. Or five.
  4. You know how sometimes, people don’t use their turn signals, and it’s annoying as heck to everyone driving behind them? Yeah. Don’t be that person. This doesn’t apply to this tag at all, but it’s good life advice.

Now, forward, to the questions!

1. What’s one of your biggest pet peeves?
The sound of paper being rubbed against paper. Repeatedly. For some reason, I can turn pages of a book just fine, but rubbing one piece of paper around on another makes my skin crawl.

2. What is your favorite song at the moment?
This is Gospel by Panic! at the Disco. There are two lines in this song which did that ridiculous thing that songs sometimes do, and said aloud some things I’d been tossing around for a story. After that, it was impossible not to fall in love.

3. Who is your favorite blogger?
Last summer, I started reading Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle. After falling in love with the second book, I did what I do best and wandered around the internet to see what else she did that I might enjoy. Her tumblr blog has been one of my favorite places to be for several months now. Especially her Dubious Life Advice tag. The letter of the advice may be questionable, but the intent is golden.

4. What’s the nicest thing you’ve seen someone do recently?
My sisters and my friends have been showering me with good things today, in the form of helping me put my head on straight. I don’t think good, honest, supportive friendship can be praised enough.

5. What’s something you regret doing?
I regret trying to watch Mortdecai by myself. I watched it because the credits are full of actors and actresses I like to watch. I stopped watching it because it demanded one or two good friends to help me snark at it.

6. If you could take only three items with you to a deserted island, what would they be, and why?
Assuming that we are precluding any of the items that I might need for a) survival or b) escape, I’ll take the following:

My laptop or my phone, because they are the only two objects I use on a daily basis. I’ll take whichever ensures me some contact with the outside world. I promise not to use them to call for help.

A stack of books, recommended by friends, which I have never read before. I know from experience that I don’t travel very well without entertainment.

Sunscreen, because I am a pale, pale human, and I prefer that to being a lobster-colored human.

7. What past fad do you think should make a come back?
The horned headdresses women wore in the middle ages. For years, we’ve been walking around in shoes that can be used as murder weapons. It’s time we stepped up our hat game again.

8. How would you describe the perfect date?
Perfect is not a word I spend a lot of time defining in any context. I don’t like it.

I do like the word “good.” A good date includes smiles and laughter, and an activity improved by company. It’s a very simple equation.

I’m tagging:

Kate from More Than Half Mad
Kathryn from Nine Pages
Rachel Poli

And your new questions are:

7. What’s the last television episode you really loved?
8. What place on your home continent would you most like to visit?

6 thoughts on “Gwendoogle – The Little Engine Tag

  1. “This is Gospel” was the song that spurred my rediscovery of Panic! At the Disco. Happened upon it randomly , and ended up finding the newest album and then promptly fell into the emopunkpop hole ….again

  2. Pingback: Choo Choo! The Little Engine Tag | More Than 1/2 Mad

  3. Pingback: The Little Engine Tag – Rachel Poli

Leave a Reply

