Gwendoogle – I Just Want to be Boromir in Aviators with a Chihuahua

GwendoogleAnswers served with something adorable at the end

Trebez searched: Do you want a dog? And if so, what sort of dog would you like?
I have wanted a dog since I was nine years old, which is to say that I want one in the same way I want a castle, and a Cinderella ballgown, and a pair of Aviator sunglasses like the fighter pilots wear. Don’t judge me.

I am very interested in the fairy tale where I buy a best friend, a loyal adventurer, a guardian, an adorable playmate. I have liked almost every dog I’ve ever met.

But I don’t like their spit. And I don’t like their fur all over my clothes every day. And I don’t really like the idea of my freedom being hampered by having to be home in time to take the dog out for a walk before she chews the couch in two.

So, do I want a dog? Yes. I want a Chihuahua-Cocker Spaniel mix, preferably all black with the Chihuahua’s ears, not the Spaniel’s. Because I have never seen a more adorable dog.

But do I want a dog? Not really. I just want to play with my friends’ dogs.

MadamLibrarian searched: What is your favorite book from the ALA banned book list, any year?
The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien is the obvious answer. My father gave me a beautiful, illustrated hardcover copy of the trilogy for Christmas a long time ago, and it’s still one of my prize possessions. I read it about every other year. I almost never mention it when talking about the books that have inspired me as writer, and I’m beginning to believe that’s because it’s one of the few books that has altered my life. I don’t want to write like Tolkien, I want to fight like Boromir, and love like Samwise, and live like Merry and Pippin.

But I also really love The Call of the Wild by Jack London. Because it’s about surviving, and existing, and the incredible combinations of nature and talent and intelligence inside our skins.

Kate Kearney searched: How do I make my gallery wall work?
Make that one on the left crooked on purpose. Lean on that other one on the right just a hair to starboard.

MadamLibrarian searched: What is the historical significance of basketball in Ireland?
Ireland has been playing basketball since the early 1920’s, when Sergeant Major Doogan introduced it to the army. It was originally viewed as a sport that boxers-in-training could practice in their down time to help sharpen their skills, but by the 1940’s had become more popular as a sport in it’s own right.

It has remained popular in the army to this day, though it branched out to colleges and to the public in the 1940’s. The first basketball club in Ireland was formed in 1945 at University College Dublin, and the first Intervarsity Competition was held in 1946.

Today, it is Ireland’s number one indoor sport. Possibly because they are all secretly boxers-in-training.

Kate Kearney searched: What is THAT?
That’s the brand new Swiss Army Knife, with chainsaw and flame thrower attachments.

(Yes, I’m scared too.)

MadamLibrarian searched: What is the cutest animal noise?

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in the comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it

The question bucket currently has: 5 questions

One thought on “Gwendoogle – I Just Want to be Boromir in Aviators with a Chihuahua

Leave a Reply

