Gwendoogle – I Can Count to Five

GwendoogleAnswers served like we’re on Sesame Street

Kate Kearney searched: Favorite prompts and tactics for writing inspiration?
I have two, and they cannot be employed at the same time:

  1. Sit your butt down and write. Do not pass Go. Do not collect two hundred dollars. Turn off the internet and do not leave you writing spot until you have reached a specific goal, be it word count, page count, or specific thing you wanted down on paper.
  2. Do literally anything BUT write. Watch a movie. Read a book. Go bowling. See friends. Collect ideas and throw them away and collect some more. Recharge and restock.

At this point in my writing life, those two things comprise ninety-percent of my productivity.

MadamLibrarian searched: What are three tasty recipes with under ten ingredients?
This time last year, I was cooking dinner every night for five people. Seven months ago, I moved 2700 miles away, and today, I’m sitting in a Panda Express trying to remember the last time I cooked.

It was probably Christmas.

These days, my meals look like this:

  1. The Almost Cobb Salad– Thaw popcorn chicken from the pretty red freezer bag, spill pre-cut greens out of the pretty green fridge bag, chop an avocado, fry bacon. Mix. Dress with whatever oil dressing is available. (5 ingredients)
  2. The Meat Eater – Chop onions and caramelize in pan. Chop mushrooms and zucchini and cook in same pan. Take vegetables out and cook steak in same pan. Serve in a big pile on a big plate. (4 ingredients)
  3. Big Bowl of Ice Cream – Buy gallon tub of ice cream. Bring home. Scoop desired amount into bowl. On bad day, eat straight out of the carton. (1 ingredient)

Sorry, Mom. I know you raised me better.

MadamLibrarian searched: What are four interesting/unique hairstyles?
1. Five-strand Dutch braid.

  1. Haphazard heatless curls.
  2. Glow-stick twisted top knot.
  3. Tripod pigtails.

[waggles eyebrows] Interested?

MadamLibrarian searched: What are five book recommendations?
Did you mean: What are the next five books you’re excited about reading?
1. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – Because I need to know how the story ends. But strangely, I’ve also been dragging my feet on this one, because I’m not quite ready to know all the answers.

  1. The Long Utopia by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter – Because I need to know how the story ends. And I’m still enamored with the Wild, Wild West feel of this series, when we’re moving through parallel universes by the power of potato.
  2. The Bronze Mirror by Jeanne Larsen – Because I love a good fantasy/history collision.
  3. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan – Because I am very convinced that Greek gods make terrible teenage boys. ;)
  4. Uprooted by Naomi Novik – Because I’m in the mood for a fairytale retelling.

JibblyPuff searched: Where do you work?
I work under a palm tree. For the palm tree. It is a blind palm tree, and pays me handsomely to tell it when it’s safe to drop coconuts. Once a week, I’m allowed to make a “comedic call” and tell him to drop one at an inopportune moment.

Have a question for Gwendoogle? Leave it in comments below and I’ll be back next week to answer it.

The question bucket currently has: 1 question

Leave a Reply

