The November Chronicles: Day One

I should not be awake right now. I’ve only gotten five and a half hours of sleep, and my alarm promised I could sleep until noon. And yet, I woke up, and I’m terribly excited that National Novel Writing Month has started.

I use Post-It Notes for all my novel planning needs. Cryptic instructions from the past are oh-so-inspiring. Here's the one I've been referencing most today.  (via https://www.instagram.com/apprenticenevermaster/)

I use Post-It Notes for all my novel planning needs. Cryptic instructions from the past are oh-so-inspiring. Here’s the one I’ve been referencing most today.  (via https://www.instagram.com/apprenticenevermaster/)

Current word count: 2,155
Status: Ahead of schedule, sleepy, and consuming too many Halloween Kit-Kats

I started writing last night at midnight. My boyfriend accepted that pleasantly, even though it meant skipping out on his Halloween plans. One of my coworkers thought I was a little crazy to deprive myself of sleep. My friend on the East Coast, who started writing three hours ahead of me, was still up writing when I headed for bed at three-thirty a.m.

It was a good start.

I am already very aware that the editing process is going to take a long time: as usual, everything is blunter than I would like it to be. I use the same words too often. I’m writing dialogue without feeling like I even know some of the characters who are talking. And yet, the bones of a first chapter now exist, and I’m happy with the raw material that I’m building.

I’ve never been one of those writers who starts a project feeling like the writing is running smooth as a cat. I don’t hit a sweet stride until about halfway through. Right now, it’s too painstaking, too much like the tedium of setting up massive lines of dominos to knock over later in a beautiful clatter.

But I love knowing that that’s coming.

Today, I’m hoping for two thousand more words, and a few more sentences to point at and say “That’s still going to be in the polished story.”

How did YOU kick off November?

Leave a Reply

